One of the most common questions I get about Reverse Attack Marketing – or heck, ANY affiliate marketing training program is – How Much Can I Make?
Usually the questions are phrased like…
“If I work really hard, how much can I expect to make each month and how fast will I start making it?”
“How fast until I see sales and commissions?”
“How many RAM Campaigns do I have to make before I earn $x per month?”
“I’ve had ___ number of clicks on my Amazon links – when will I start to see sales?”
“I need to earn $x amount per month, when will happen if I do this?”
etc, etc, etc.
When it comes to affiliate marketing, the honest and immediate answer to the “how much will I make?” type questions is this:
No one knows how much you will make.
No one can tell you how much you will make from YOUR efforts and YOUR results from your efforts. It’s you doing it… not me
There is not a single training course, program, school, etc that will ever be able to guarantee your earnings when you’re learning how to go into business for yourself.
And remember, affiliate marketing is a self-employed thing – it’s not like being hired as an employee for a job where you are promised a certain amount per hour or a certain salary.
All that said, I CAN offer you a way to think it through to figure for yourself how much you can make online with affiliate marketing.
But in order to help you with that, I’d need to know the answer to 3 questions.
- 1. What is your CPC?
- 2. What is your EPC?
- 3. How many clicks will you be sending to the vendor via your affiliate link?
Confused by that? No problem, let me explain…
CPC stands for Cost Per Click. In other words, how much does it cost you to get that one click.
For those doing the Reverse Attack Marketing Method or One Week Marketing or Sara’s amazing training, the Cost Per Click (CPC) is zero.
All of the above training courses teach how to get free traffic – therefor, free clicks on your affiliate links meaning no hard cost to you. (Naturally, there is a cost for your time, but that doesn’t figure in right here and now for the purposes of this example).
EPC stands for Earnings Per Click. On average, how much does a click earn for you?
For example, if you had 1200 clicks on your affiliate link and earned $356.00 from those 1200 clicks, your Earnings Per Click (EPC) for a single click is $.29 (29 cents).
The math for that is 356/1200 = .29666
How many clicks will you get on your affiliate link?
This is exactly the part of the equation that makes it impossible for anyone else to be able to even guess at how much you will earn.
If I know how much a click earns you and how many clicks you will get, it’s a simple math equation of clicks times (multiplied by) value per click (your EPC).
Without knowing how many clicks, or the value of a click, no one can even guess or project how much will be earned.
One needs all three parts of the equation – how much a click costs (CPC), how much a click is worth on average (EPC), and how many clicks to do some simple math to project how much will be earned.
Now, if someone comes to me and says, “Hey Jennifer, I’m going to be promoting Amazon products as an affiliate and my goal is to get 5000 clicks on my links each month – how much do you think that would earn?”
For me, that would be simple.
I’ve been an Amazon affiliate for years and have lots of stats over those years to know, for a fact, how much a click on any of my Amazon affiliate links is worth to ME.
Based on my personal stats over the years, one Amazon affiliate link click is worth, on average, about 14 cents. So if someone wanted to get 5000 clicks on their Amazon affiliate link each month, I would feel comfortable saying…
“Based on my years of stats as being an Amazon affiliate, 5000 affiliate link clicks per month would earn me somewhere about $700 a month.”
See how it becomes simple math… logical?
Now naturally I can not guarantee that someone WILL earn $700, but I have solid data to back up that projection.
Odds are also good that their earnings would be a bit higher since my Earnings Per Click (EPC) gets a bit diluted by having students out there clicking my affiliate links which most Amazon affiliates do not have happening.
As another example, if someone said, “Hey Jennifer, I’d like to make $1000 a month as an Amazon affiliate – what do I need to do?”
Again, my own data allows me to give some insight to help that person make their own projection and goals.
$1,000 a month is $12,000 per year. $12,000 divided by 14 cents (my personal average earnings per click on Amazon – EPC) equals 85,714 affiliate links clicks over a year….or about 7,142 affiliate link clicks per month… or, to bring it down to a very do-able looking number, about 234 clicks per day.
So my advice to that person wanting to make $1,000 per month promoting Amazon products from their RAM campaigns, would be to work towards creating enough pages to generate 230-250 clicks on those links per day.
How many web pages will that take? No clue on that – that is all dependent on your actions, keywords and products chosen, etc. It could take one web page – or 250… or more. That part is totally up to you.
But, by having a target goal of how many clicks you need each month, you are better able to move forward in that direction to achieve your earnings goal (and then some).
How I Made My Earnings Goals
When I first started out, I would make my little campaigns online as sort of a game for me.
Let’s say I wanted one campaign to pay for my monthly cell phone bill and that bill was $100 a month.
A click is worth 14 cents on average so that means I need 714 or so clicks on those campaign affiliate links per month – or about 24 clicks per day.
All of a sudden, it become very, VERY “do-able” using this little game method I played with myself. Heck, I can put some pages online and get to 24 clicks each day…that is very do-able.
Then, I started creating more campaigns for even more monthly bills – and when those bills were covered, I’d create campaigns for savings … for a new car… for a vacation…for Christmas money.
My goals got bigger as I got better and had more web pages out there working for me.
See how that works?
But here’s the kicker and the part where most people fail….
You have to actually DO IT.
Just reading training guides and doing math on potential earnings won’t actually earn you a dime – it takes getting web pages out there and getting those clicks.
Why Base It Off Amazon Affiliate Earnings?
I’ve been an Amazon affiliate for years and years and have all those months, days, and individual campaign stats to use to be able to do this math for my own efforts and goals.
Amazon is probably the most dependable and consistent earnings source online as well.
Regardless of how many clicks I send, my EPC stats and other stats are consistent year after year – it’s almost creepy how consistent they are year after year.
Year after year, my EPCs and average sale amount and average commission amount are really REALLY close – the only thing that changes is my earnings.
I generate well over 6 figures a year in revenue for Amazon.com – not bad for one little woman sitting in her little home office in a little town in Georgia USA, huh?
So I know that over the course of a full calendar year, an average click on an Amazon affiliate link is worth about 14 cents for me (my EPC).
That EPC amount varies month to month – and those monthly variations happen consistently as well.
Earning Stats for Amazon Month by Month
January and February are usually good EPC months,
March, April, and May tend to go lower than average EPC-wise,
June, July, and August get better,
September and October stink,
and then November and December are pure powerhouses with awesome EPC (with EPC amounts sometimes equal to TRIPLE the EPC of other months).
Let me put it this way – in all my years as an Amazon affiliate, I can take the amount I earn from January 1st thru October 31st (ie, the first full 10 months of the year) and know that is how much I will most likely make in November and December to close out the year.
That’s right, year after year I earn about the same amount as all of my first 10 months earnings combined in the last 2 months of the year.
So, for example, if I earned $12,000 in the first 10 months of the year, I could safely and confidently project that I will earn another $12,000 in November and December combined.
No, I don’t do anything different… I don’t have anything that targets Christmas decorations or anything that is totally seasonal either. Just my same web pages that perform at one level the first 10 months, and then blow up the last 2 months.
Conversion rate also nearly doubles in those last 2 months as well.
My favorite time of year is September and October. Hard to believe I say that considering those are the two months of the year when Amazon earnings are down, but thing is, I KNOW that November and December are coming so all I think about is – Get Those Web Pages Out There!!!
All I have to do is get my web pages found and my links clicked- and Amazon does the rest for me.
Amazon is a conversions beast – for the most part, all we as affiliates need to do is to get people to click through our affiliate links and just get them ON the Amazon.com site.
The products you choose to promote/review specifically are really only for choosing the keywords that allow you to have your links found online – the money is made purely by getting them on the Amazon site via your link – and then Amazon is King at converting them to sales from there.
Keywords = how you’ll get found
Clicks = Sales
Having your web pages found, having lots of pages, and getting them out there online quickly is the name of the game.
That’s where Reverse Attack Marketing comes in =)
Inside RAM you’ll learn how to find the right keywords to GET found – and how to get lots of web pages out there ranking well in the fastest easiest way I know how.
And it all comes down to knowing the difference between “price” and “cost”.
Yes, there is a price for the RAM Training…and yes, there is a price for the tools we use..but NOT investing in that price has a bigger cost.
What is the cost for NOT being able to get your affiliate pages out there ranking quickly?
What is the cost for NOT having MORE web pages out there with your affiliate links on them?
Right off the top of my head, I can say the cost to not invest in the price is big – lots of time wasted and lots of money lost out on.
That’s not a sales pitch or hype – it’s just the truth.
You are starting a business for yourself when you get into affiliate marketing.
Knowing your own stats based on your own results, knowing the difference between price and cost, and making your goals (as well as taking consistent action towards reaching those goals) is how it all works ’round here.
And above all, when it comes to Amazon affiliate earnings – it’s all about the affiliate link clicks.
Hope that helps – and sure hope you join us inside Reverse Attack Marketing.